Main navigation

Staff Directory

  • Reset
Nicole Garrie

Garrie, Nicole

Psychologist

nlgarrie@seattleschools.org
Jay Gillespie

Gillespie, Jay

Band Director

jrgillespie@seattleschools.org

Biography I am originally from Eagle River, Alaska, where I started asking to play the saxophone at the age of 3. After years of begging I got my first saxophone in 5th grade and immediately began studying privately. I was in band and choir all through high school, participating yearly in solo and ensemble and All-State band. My senior year of high school I received a scholarship to attend Interlochen Arts Academy, a performing arts boarding school in Traverse City, Michigan. I graduated with honors from Interlochen with a fine arts award in saxophone performance and was accepted to the University of Michigan for the following year to study classical saxophone performance. I spent 5 years at the University of Michigan studying classical saxophone with Donald Sinta and jazz with the late Donald Walden before joining the Navy Band in 2005. During my time in the Navy Band I was in a variety of ensembles from jazz combos, jazz bands, wind ensembles, marching bands, rock bands, New Orleans style brass bands and ceremonial bands where I performed for combined audiences of over 1.5 million people. Stationed at Navy Band New Orleans and Navy Band Northwest, I had the opportunity to lead the jazz protocol combo and the New Orleans style brass band as well as being featured as an arranger, soloist, and vocalist on many occasions. Upon my exit from the Navy Band I decided to follow my love of teaching and return to school to pursue my music education degree at the University of Washington. I completed my degree this past June and am currently residing in Kitsap County with my wife and two sons while playing regularly in the area. Personal Message I first want to relay to all the students and families how excited I am to be working with Ballard this year. I know that between COVID and the abrupt changes to the band program faculty things have been anything but normal this year, but I really hope I can help get things back on track and get the kids having fun playing music again. My door (or phone rather) is always open and I welcome any input that can improve the students musical experience this year. I look forward to meeting you all personally working with the exceptionally talented kids at Ballard!

Graves, Chloe

Special Ed Assistant/IA

cggraves@seattleschools.org
Dale Griffith

Griffith, Dale

Graduation Success Coordinator

ddgriffith@seattleschools.org
Scott Gross

Gross, Scott

History Teacher

stgross@seattleschools.org
Noam Gundle

Gundle, Noam

Science Teacher, Maritime Academy

njgundle@seattleschools.org
Jeffrey Hanson

Hanson, Jeffrey

Special Education Assistant

jshanson@seattleschools.org
Matthew Harkleroad

Harkleroad, Matthew

Drawing & Painting Teacher

msharkleroad@seattleschools.org

Holmgren, Trevor

Social Studies Teacher

tgholmgren@seattleschools.org

Huguenin, Katie

Counseling Center Tasks/Projects

kwhuguenin@seattleschools.org

Humphries, Ross

Graduation Success Coordinator

rdhumphries@seattleschools.org

Hunt, Abby

Principal

abhunt@seattleschools.org
Mary Jereczek

Jereczek, Mary

CTE Teacher and Business Department Head

mejereczek@seattleschools.org

Johnson, Jacques

Security Specialist

jjohnson@seattleschools.org
Kristina Katrel

Katrel, Kristina

Language Arts Teacher

khkatrel@seattleschools.org

Khamsitthisack, Kanlaya

Lunchroom

kakhamsitthi@seattleschools.org
Thomas Kramer

Kramer, Thomas

Head Counselor (Students Hao-Mci)

tkramer@seattleschools.org
Adelle Lahud-Zahner

Lahud-Zahner, Adelle

Special Ed Assistant/IA

alahudzahner@seattleschools.org
Marcia Lalonde

Lalonde, Marcia

CTE Teacher, Family & Consumer Science Department Head

malalonde@seattleschools.org
Shawn Lee

Lee, Shawn

Social Studies Teacher

stlee@seattleschools.org