Skip To ContentSkip To Content

    Welcome to the Counseling Center  

    Helpful Links To Info From Seattle Public Schools


    About Us

    The Ballard Counselors work with students to help them develop strategies for success in academics, in social skills, and in considering their post-high school plans and career options. Counselors encourage students to become aware of their individual strengths, to develop methods for dealing with difficulties, to set goals, and to make good choices. 

    Student Counselor Assignment Information ->

    Students are assigned to counselors by the first letter of their last name. Counselors work with students to explain the credit system, help students select courses, monitor progress toward achieving graduation requirements, explore interests, and make plans for college application and career options. Counselors also help students deal with social and emotional issues. 

    Featured News All Grades



    Running Start

    Students interested in Running Start should visit the Running Start page and schedule an appointment to meet with their Counselor and get their forms signed before enrolling in the Running Start program.



    Rep Visits

    Ballard HS is happy to host non-profit colleges and universities on campus. Visits are administered via CounselorCommunity.com. College Reps please schedule your college visit to our school using this program. Parking is available in the visitor lot at the front of school, on NW 65th street. Check in at the main office and you will be directed to the Counseling Center. Contact Carol Bristol at chbristol@seattleschools.org if you have any questions.



    JOB BOARD | After School or Weekend Job, Intern?

    Job board jpg

    CHECK THE BHS JOB BOARD 

    The BHS Counseling Center Job Board is located outside the Counseling Center.

    Disclaimer: Ballard High School only shares these postings and does not endorse any of these businesses.

    Resources


    Contact Information

    Carol Bristol
    Counseling Secretary

    206-252-1014
    chbristol@seattleschools.org

    BHS Student Counselor
    Assignment Breakdown

    Sonja Petersen | Counselor
    Student List A - Ci
    206-252-1106 | Mon - Thurs
    slpetersen@seattleschools.org

    Sarah Bowman | Counselor
    Student List Cj - Han
    206-252-1011
    sabowman@seattleschools.org

    Tom Kramer | Head Counselor
    Student List Hao - Mci 
    206-252-1102
    tkramer@seattleschools.org

    Gail Olson Laing | Counselor
    Student List Mcj - Sch
    206-252-1103
    gsolsonlaing@seattleschools.org

    Leti Bravo | Counselor
    Student List Sci - Z
    206-252-1104
    lrbravo@seattleschools.org

    Katie Huguenin
    Counseling Dept. Tasks/Projects



    School Psychologists
    Nicole Garrie | Michelle Dorman
    206-252-1108 | 206-252-1187
    nlgarrie@seattleschools.org
    mjdorman@seattleschools.org

    Mike Broom
    Testing Coordinator

    206-252-1107
    mrbroom@seattleschools.org

    Lisa Coacher
    Academic Intervention Specialist

    206-252-1107
    ljcoacher@seattleschools.org

    Hailey Ortega Villarreal
    504/Academic Intervention Specialist

    hjortegavill@seattleschools.org

    Helen Maynard
    College/Career Specialist
    206-252-1012
    hbmaynard@seattleschools.org

    Lindsay Squires
    Service Learning

    206-252-1015
    lesquires@seattleschools.org

    Kim Nickerson
    Registrar

    206-252-1105
    kdnickerson@seattleschools.org

    BHS Teen Health Center
    206-781-6400

    Updated 5/13/2020