Skip To ContentSkip To Content

    Breaking News!



    BHS Students! Need help with homework?  Students who'd like some extra help with math after school can go to the library where volunteers are ready to help for just about every level of math, including AP calculus. Please consider this offer of help that can give you a boost to your GPA.



    BHS JOB BOARD | After school or weekend job?

    Job board jpg
    Check the 
    Job Board located outside the Counseling Center.  Past jobs have included a Seattle Sounders paid internship and Conservation Association positions.


    Disclaimer:
    BHS only shares these postings and does not endorse any of these businesses.




    Counseling Secretary Carol Bristol

    Phone: 206-252-1014
    Fax: 206-252-1001
    chbristol@seattleschools.org

    About Us: The BHS Counseling Office is open from 8:15 a.m. - 3:45 p.m. The Ballard Counselors work with students to help them develop strategies for success in academics, in social skills, and in considering their post-high school plans and career options. Counselors encourage students to become aware of their individual strengths, to develop methods for dealing with difficulties, to set goals, and to make good choices. 

    Counselor Information: Students are assigned to counselors by the first letter of their last name. Counselors work with students to explain the credit system, help students select courses, monitor progress toward achieving graduation requirements, explore interests, and make plans for college application and career options. Counselors also help students deal with social and emotional issues.

    Appointments: To make an appointment with your counselor, go to the Counseling Center and sign up for an available date and time in the notebook on Ms. Bristol’s desk.

    Fill out a pass from the stack next to the notebook & make sure to write down the appointment in your planner. On the correct date and time, show your pass to your teacher, go to the Counseling Center to meet with your counselor.  Your counselor will sign your pass following your appointment so that you may return to class.

    Running Start: Students interested in Running Start should schedule an appointment to meet with their Counselor and get their forms signed before enrolling in the Running Start program.



    RepVisits  | Ballard High School is happy to host non-profit colleges and universities on campus. Visits are administered via CounselorCommunity.com. College Reps please schedule your college visit to our school using this program.

    Parking is available in the visitor lot at the front of school, on 65th street. Once you arrive, check into the main office and you will be directed upstairs to the Counseling Center. Ask for Helen Maynard | Ballard HS College Career Specialist at hbmaynard@seattleschools.org

    Contact Information

    Carol Bristol
    Counseling Secretary

    206-252-1014
    chbristol@seattleschools.org

    Sonja Petersen | Counselor
    Student List A - Coh
    206-252-1106 | Mon - Thurs
    slpetersen@seattleschools.org

    Sarah Bowman | Counselor
    Student List Coi - Ha 
    206-252-1011
    sabowman@seattleschools.org

    Tom Kramer | Head Counselor
    Student List Hb - Mi 
    206-252-1102
    tkramer@seattleschools.org

    Gail Olson-Laing | Counselor
    Student List Mj - Sa 
    206-252-1103
    gsolsonlaing@seattleschools.org

    Leti Bravo | Counselor
    Student List Sb - Z
    206-252-1104
    lrbravo@seattleschools.org

    Katie Huguenin
    Counseling Dept. Tasks/Projects


    School Psychologists
    Nicole Garrie | Michelle Dorman
    206-252-1108 | 206-252-1187
    nlgarrie@seattleschools.org
    mjdorman@seattleschools.org

    Helen Maynard
    College Career Specialist
    206-252-1012
    hbmaynard@seattleschools.org

    Lisa Coacher | Mike Broom
    Academic Intervention Specialists
    206-252-1107
    ljcoacher@seattleschools.org
    mrbroom@seattleschools.org

    Grayce Mitchell
    Service Learning 206-252-1015
    gamitchell@seattleschools.org

    Kim Nickerson
    Registrar
    206-252-1105
    kdnickerson@seattleschools.org

    Teen Health Center
    206-781-6400

    Resources

    9th Gr Orientation Packet
    College Visits & Info
    Scholarships
    BHS Course Catalog
    Ballard HS Profile 2018-19
    Student/Parent Handbook 18-19
    BHS Student Handbook 17-18
    Running Start
    Service Learning Opportunities
    Student/Parent Info By Grade



    1st Semester Academic Deadlines
    2nd Semester Academic Deadlines