Skip To ContentSkip To Content

    Welcome to the Counseling Center  

    Notes from the Counselors!

    HAVE A GREAT SUMMER BALLARD BEAVERS! 

    Transcripts were mailed July 1 to colleges indicated at Senior Check Out and designated via Naviance.
    AP Exam Scores will be available via CollegeBoard on August 16.
    Graduation Photos are available from Rowland Studios.
    Diplomas will be available to pick up at BHS in September.

    Visit the Graduation 2021 for more details. The Counseling Office is closed for Summer Break, and Counselors return to the office in late August. Grades will be finalized and posted on the Source July 7.


    If you need assistance, please contact the Main Office at (206) 252-1000, or email Cindy Peterson, crpeterson@seattleschools.org.


    Student Meals During Summer |  SPS Student Meals Info 


    New! Freshman! Mark Your Calendars!

    9th Grade Orientation is scheduled for Wed, August 25 from 8-noon starting in the Main Gym.

    Additional details and safety protocols will be released as we get closer to the event, but plan your calendars for this fun and engaging chance to meet your Link Crew Leaders (Junior and Seniors mentors assigned to every 9th Grader) and to get introduced to the building. Sorry parents, but this is for 9th Graders only. Want to know more about Ballard High School?

    Incoming Students Info > 



    Featured News



    About Us

    The BHS Counselors work with students to help them develop strategies for success in academics, social skills, and in considering their post-high school plans and career options.

    Counselors encourage students to become aware of their individual strengths, develop methods for dealing with difficulties, setting goals, and to make good choices. Counselors also help students deal with social and emotional issues.

    BHS Counselor Student Assignments

    Students are assigned by the their last name.

    Counselors work with students to explain the credit system, help select courses, monitor progress toward achieving graduation requirements, explore interests, and make plans for college application and career options.

    Book an Appointment with your Counselor

    Counselor Support | Running Start | New Students
    Select an option and then your Counselor's name. Enter correct email address, or you will NOT receive a confirmation email with a link.

    Schedule a Counseling Appointment >



    Job red in a magnifying glass

    Virtual Job/Internship
    Board




    • Ballard Target Employment Opportunities | Several jobs are available immediately at Target- Ballard with more at the Northgate Target Store. Learn More.
    • Internships Information An internship is a workplace experience, similar to a job, which can help you grow and learn about careers you might want to pursue. An internship will have a position description, several learning objectives, as well as start and end dates. Some examples are Launch 206, T-Mobile, Work Site Learning, Career Connections. Learn More. 

    BHS only shares postings and does not endorse any of these businesses.

    Read More Job/Internship News

    Resources  

    Graduation Requirements

    Seniors Overview

    Applying to College 

    All Grade Resources

    Running Start Information

    Creating a Culture of Belonging at Ballard HS


    Images of BHS Counselors 7
    Instagram
     @bhsschoolcounselors


    Counseling Secretary
    Carol Bristol
    206-252-1014
    chbristol@seattleschools.org

    BHS Student Counselor
    Assignment List

    Sonja Petersen | Counselor
    Student List A - Ci
    206-252-1106 | Mon - Thurs
    slpetersen@seattleschools.org

    Sarah Bowman | Counselor
    Student List Cj - Han
    206-252-1011
    sabowman@seattleschools.org

    Tom Kramer | Head Counselor
    Student List Hao - Mci
    206-252-1102
    tkramer@seattleschools.org

    Gail Olson Laing | Counselor
    Student List Mcj - Sch
    206-252-1103
    gsolsonlaing@seattleschools.org

    Leti Bravo | Counselor
    Student List Sci - Z
    206-252-1104
    lrbravo@seattleschools.org

    Katie Huguenin
    Counseling Dept. Tasks/Projects



    School Psychologists
    Nicole Garrie
    Michelle Dorman
    Marie Gent
    206-252-1187
    nlgarrie@seattleschools.org
    mjdorman@seattleschools.org
    mfgent@seattleschools.org

    BHS Teen Health Center
    Teen Health Center Info
    206-390-3355

    Testing Coordinator
    Mike Broom | 206-252-1107
    mrbroom@seattleschools.org

    Academic Intervention
    Lisa Coacher | 206-252-1107
    ljcoacher@seattleschools.org

    Registrar
    Kim Nickerson | 206-252-1105
    kdnickerson@seattleschools.org 

    Updated 6/25/2021