Skip To ContentSkip To Content

    Ballard High School Outstanding Educator, Golden Acorn, & Outstanding Advocate Award

    The Ballard High School PTSA gives an Outstanding Educator, Golden Acorn and at times a Outstanding Advocate Award at the end of the school year.

    Golden Acorn

    The Golden Acorn Award is offered by the Washington State PTA in recognition of a volunteer(s) for his/her dedication and service to children and youth. It recognizes volunteer service “above and beyond” a particular job description.

    Outstanding Educator

    The Outstanding Educator outstanding educators who provide outstanding educational opportunities for children and youth that are beyond the normal scope of their jobs, to make the learning environment fun, beneficial, and challenging.

    Outstanding Advocate

    Established in 2004 by the WA State PTA, the Outstanding Advocate Award recognizes and honors an individual for continued and dedicated service to ALL children, and a demonstrated commitment to helping create strong policies relating to the health, welfare, safety, and education of children and youth.

    We try to acknowledge people that have not been recognized in the  recent past. Recipients receive a certificate and pin, and a contribution is made in their name to the WA State PTA Scholarship Program

    Outstanding Educators Awards, Golden Acorn and Advocate 2019-20! 

    PTSA Board Members with Posters with names on it. Mara Lim, Heather Bioren   Outstanding Educators signs outside BHS

    PTSA Awards
    1. Outstanding BHS Advocate Dick Lee (top to bottom, left to right)
    2. Legislative Liaison Brian Duncan
    3. Golden Acorn Heather Bioren
    4. Honorary Lifetime PTSA Membership Mara Lim

    PTSA Outstanding Educators Math Teacher: Marie Lassley, Social Studies Teacher (BHS Parent) Robin Dowdy and Special Education Teacher/Unified Head Coach: Robyn Maddess. Congrats to all and thanks for their dedication!

    Outstanding Educators, Golden Acorn Award 2017-18

    Chris Witek and Diane Taylor  Principal with Teacher and Award  Group of Teacher with PTSA Award 

    Outstanding Educators, Golden Acorns and Advocate Awards 2015-16!

    PTSA Advocate and Golden Acorn with Joel   Lisa Fitch award with Mr Wynkoop and Joel Niemermeyer  

    PTSA Volunteer with Principal  Staff and Volunteers Award    

    Prior Award Recipients

    School Year

    Outstanding Educator

     Golden Acorn

    Outstanding Advocate

     2019 - 2020 Robin Dowdy
    Marie Lassley
    Robyn Maddess

    Heather Bioren
    Richard "Dick" Lee 
    Honorary Lifetime Membership: Mara Lim
    2018 - 2019
    Kira Franz-Knight,
    Nell Niewiadomski,
    Melissa Baron
    Mara Lim,
    Jenny Peters
    Joel Niemeyer
    2017 - 2018
    Sachiko Smith,
    Timothy Stedman
    Sharon and Jeff Parker  Diane Taylor
    2016 - 2017
    Matt Lawrence,
    Jack Thompson
    Mike and Jill Hansen,
    Diane Taylor
    2015 - 2016 John Foster
    Brittany Newell
    Pam Dundas
    Lori Bjorklund

    Demian Godon
    Honorary Special Award: Lisa Fitch

    2014 - 2015
    Michael Broom,
    Oana Rus,
    Shelley Vertucci
    Kim Flin,
    Ivan Lysene,
    Jenny Thomson
    Heidi Bennett
    2013 - 2014 Debbie Arthur,
    Lorie Buob,
    Joe McColskey,
    Eric Muhs
    Lisa Fitch,
    Sue Verduin,
    John Verduin,
    Ron Wang
    2012 - 2013  John Nygaard,
    Ed Herbert,
    Shawn Riley 
    Torii Guettler,
    Sue Rauda,
    Kathleen Marks,
    Doug Brownlee 
    2011 - 2012  India Carlson,
    Sandy Jensen 
    Betty Brownlee,
    Patti Kost, Ted Inkley 
    2010 - 2011  Ted Nutting,
    Sooz Stahl
    Shawn Burkland,
    Sue Daley, Sue Redman 
    2009 - 2010  Julie Chapman,
    Alicia Hale,
    Courtney Rowley,
    Megan Vogel,
    Jill Zawatski 
    Kathy Bowen,
    Diane Darling,
    Suzanne Matchett,
    Cindy Peterson 
     2008 - 2009 Debbi Bower,
    Dewey Moody,
    Craig Nielsen,
    Michael Smith 

    Jerri Harden,
    Mark & Nancy Ellen Elster,
    Lori Hingten

    2007 - 2008  Michael James,
    Matt Lawrence 
    Michael Smith,
    Jim Vatn,
    Patty McVicker 
    2006 - 2007    Phil Brockman,
    Cindy Richter-Juarez,
    Lyn Porterfield,
    Mary Wong 
    2005 - 2006    Carol White,
    Donna Dwyer-O’Connor,
    Vivian Belcher,
    Toni Bukowski
    2004 - 2005    Ann Farr,
    Debbie Geddes 
    2003 - 2004  Charles Chinn,
    Penny Pagels 
    Susie Wyman,
    Sue Gregor.
    Lorna Hamill,
    Rita Lambert 
    2002 - 2003     Laurie Ford,
    Diane Steen,
    Shelagh Bradley
    Mary Kay Olson
    2001 - 2002    Paul & Pam Plumis
    Peter Maier 
    2000 - 2001    Josie Cleveland   
     1999 - 2000    Michael & Mary Banks
    Melissa Baar
    1998 - 1999   Grayce Mitchell
    Carbina Resendez