Clubs and Organizations

 Beavers Logo jpg



Ballard High School Clubs & Activities


We at Ballard High School feel that participation in student-oriented activities is a vital part of a student’s education. Therefore, a wide range of activities is provided. There are so many choices to help your student thrive at school, make new friends and engage with staff. 


-> Interested in starting a club?

Please fill out the New/Returning Club Application Form pdf icon and return to Coach Thurston in the Activities Center in order for ASB to consider adding at the next meeting.  We have over 70 clubs on campus and we are always looking to find more ways for students to get involved!


Activities Coordinator and Athletic Director Jason Thurston | jkthurston@seattleschools.org  

 


Art History Club

Advisor: Matt Harkleroad | msharkelroad@seattleschools.org
Student President/Leader: Emma Obirietan
Meetings at lunch on Thurs in SW110. Members look and analyze paintings, culture, and artists’ lives.


ASB - Associated Student Body - Student Government

Jason Thurston | jkthurston@seattleschools.org
Meets in Activity Center/Commons.  Elections are held in April Visit the ASB & School Dance Information page for forms and more information.


Asian American Student Union

Advisor: Dewey Moody | demoody@seattleschools.org 
Student President/Leader: Max Miyake | maxmiyake@gmail.com
Meetings Thursday’s after schools in NW215. 


Biotech Club

Advisor: Penny Pagels | pepagels@seattlschools.org 
Members must also be in the biotech academy. Meetings Mondays after school in NW200.


Cheer

Coach: Michelle Whelan | cheercoachmw@gmail.com | Cheer Website
Tryouts held in April or May. Members boost spirit and cheer-leadership at Ballard.
Cheer Tryout Packet 2017-18 pdf icon


Chess Club

Advisor: Suanne Kauffman | sjkauffman@seattleschools.org 
Student President/Leader: Sol Zamora | zamora.sol19@csj-rpi.org
Meetings after school and at lunch in S100. Members play chess.


Civic's Club

Advisor: Mr Hutchins | wbhutchins@seattleschools.org 
Wanna make history? Check out and join the new Ballard High Civics Club.  
Tuesdays after school in Mr Hutchins' room, N110.


Dance Team

Coach: Bethany Pruitt | bhsdanceteam@gmail.com | Dance Website
Members meet Monday’s, Tuesday’s, and Thursday’s after school in the commons. The Ballard Dance Team was created to promote spirit and a love of dance for the Ballard community. Dance styles include, but is not limited to: pom, jazz, and hip hop. We perform at school assemblies, football and basketball half-times, competitions, and select parades with the school Marching Band. 

Dance Team Audition Packet pdf icon Tryouts are on May 16 - 19, 2017


Debate Club

Advisor: Carol Faust | clfaust@seattleschools.org & Kevin Kendrick | khkendrick@seattleschols.org
Student President/Leader: Savannah Myers | savannahm8095@gmail.com
Debate club meets Tuesdays after school from 3:15-4:00 in S101. Members compete in inter-club debates as well as participate in debate tournaments.


DECA

Advisor: Mary Jereczek | mejereczek@seattleschools.org 
Student President/Leader: Erika Weber | erikaweber13@gmail.com
Various Wednesdays after school in library. Officers meet every Wednesday before school @ 8:15 in N101. DECA is a student organization operating in the 50 states and Canada that attracts individuals to productive careers in business, marketing, management, and entrepreneurship.  DECA gives students hands-on experience in these fields, and provides conferences and competitions that mold high school students into character-drive leaders.


Disney Club

Advisor: Kira Franz-Knight | kafranzknight@seattleschools.org
Student President/Leaders:
Elli McVicars | emcvicars@outlook.com & Josie Dotson | josie.dotsonn@gmail.com 
Members meet Wednesdays from 3:20-4:00 in S116. Members watch Disney movies and discuss the possible impact it could have on young viewers. Members go into detail about how female body image and ideals can be effected by Disney movies.  


FIRST Robotics

Advisor: Brian Connolly | baconnolly@seattlschools.org 
FIRST Robotics Competition (FRC) is a unique varsity sport of the mind designed to help high-school-aged young people discover how interesting and rewarding the life of engineers and researchers can be. The FIRST Robotics Competition challenges teams of young people and their mentors to solve a common problem in a six-week timeframe using a standard "kit of parts" and a common set of rules. Teams build robots from the parts and enter them in competitions designed by Dean Kamen, Dr. Woodie Flowers, and a committee of engineers and other professionals. FIRST redefines winning for these students because they are rewarded for excellence in design, demonstrated team spirit, gracious professionalism and maturity, and the ability to overcome obstacles. Scoring the most points is a secondary goal. Winning means building partnerships that last.


French Club

Annaick Sturgeon | amsturgeon@seattleschools.org
Members meet in S207 after school on Wednesdays


Game and Computing Club

Advisor: James Verhaeghe | jpverhaeghe@seattlschools.org 
Student President/Leader: Jack Tirpak | jackkurol7@gmail.com 


Gay Straight Alliance

Advisor: Catherine Schmider | csschmider@seattleschools.org
Student President/Leader: Ella (Riley) Paulk | Lethewarrior@gmail.com 
Members meet Thursdays at 3:30 in S202. GSA provides a meeting place and social opportunity for LGBTQ youth and their allies/friends. Activities include: parties, movies, conversation, excursions and social activism.


Girls Ultimate Frisbee (See Boys Friday Club Below)

Advisor: Carrie Burr | cjburr@seattleschools.org
Coach: Patrick McLane | patrickcmclane@gmail.com 
Student President/Leader: Camille Folweiler | camille.folweiler@gmail.com 
Players meet Monday thru Friday between March 1st and May 1st at Interbay playfield from 3:30-5:30. Members play ultimate frisbee participating in practices and games against other schools.


Girls Who Code

Advisor: Jim Verhaeghe | jpverhaeghe@seattleschools.org
Student President/Leader: Gwen Lawson | gwendolyn.j.Lawson@gmail.com
Members participate in projects, structured lessons & curriculum provided by the Girls Who Code organization and experience guest speakers.


Hip Hop Club

Advisor: Suanne Kauffman | sjkauffman@seattleschools.org 
Student President/Leader: Tariq Karam | tariqakaram@gmail.com 
Students learn about hip hop danced and perform at some assemblies.  Tuesdays after school in S100


INK Club - Literary Magazine

Advisor: Gordon Macdougall | gimacdoufall@seattleschools.org 
Student President/Leader: Zoe Zillig | zoe.zillig@gmail.com 
Members meet Thursday’s after school in SW105.  It’s about Art, Literature & Photography. INK magazine members invite students to submit art, poetry and short stories during the year, with selections made of pieces they feel represent Ballard’s literary and artistic diversity; INK is published annually.


Japanese Club

Advisor: Sachiko Smith | sosmith@seattleschools.org
Student President/Leader: Brynn Miller | dovahbrynn@outlook.com 
Members meet Tuesday’s in S204. Members are educated on Japanese culture and participate in cultural activities such as cooking, watching movies, calligraphy and crafts.


Key Club

Advisor: Shari Sjogren | sasjogren@seattleschools.org Students meet on Tuesdays at lunch (1st lunch in S208 and 2nd lunch in N101). Key Club is an international community service organization that orchestrates a variety of different service projects, including the on-campus blood drives.


Link Crew

Keven Wynkoop | kswynkoop@seattleschools.org
Carrie Burr | cjburr@seattleschools.org 
A Mentoring Program, that assigns every incoming 9th grader with successful upperclassmen at a ratio of about 10:2 to help them adjust to the realities of high school.  Link Leaders, the mentors, are chosen through an application process in the spring and they are trained in late August to prepare for an exciting Freshmen Orientation Program.  Follow up activities are organized throughout the year to increase freshmen connection to school and improve their academic and social success.


Model UN

Jack Thompson | jcthompson@seattleschools.org 
Members meet Mondays in Rm. S115 or S116, along with lunch meetings.
Students address important current international issues as delegates at Model United Nations conferences. Members develop skills in public speaking, debate, negotiation and analytical writing.   A Model UN conference will be held in December at Ballard to prepare members for outside conferences.


Magic Club

Advisor: Joe Bushek | jjbushek@seattleschools.org 
Student President/Leader: Neo | neokita@gmail.com
Meetings Mondays and Thursday’s afterschool in S102. Members learn every form of magic and how to perform it correctly.


Magic the Gathering Club

Advisor: Weston Pentecost | wmpentecost@seattleschools.org
Student President/Leader:
Meetings Mondays afterschool until 5:30 in SW200.


Music

Michael James | mijames@seattleschools.org
Instrumental Music: Symphonic Band, Wind Ensemble, Percussion, and Jazz Bands

*Courtney Rowley | chrowley@seattleschools.org
Concert Choir, Advanced Chorale, Treble Choir, and Vocal Jazz

*Brittany Newell | bcnewell@seattleschools.org
Symphonic Orchestra, and Chamber Orchestra 

*Men’s Ensemble
Men’s Ensemble is an auditioned, extracurricular men’s choir that rehearses Wednesdays from 3:30-4:30 in the Black Box. Students sing a variety of music including doo-wop, contemporary rock, pop, classical, and folk music.  Men’s Ensemble performs for all school concerts as well as assemblies, gigs throughout the area, and at Solo and Ensemble.

*Women’s Chamber Choir
An auditioned extracurricular woman’s ensemble that rehearses Tuesdays from 3:30-4:30 in the Black Box. Students perform advanced choral literature for women’s voices. They participate in Solo and Ensemble and consistently receive Superior ratings. Women’s Chamber Choir also participates in various smaller concerts and gigs throughout the year. Please see Ms. Rowley if interested.

*Fiddle Ensemble
Fiddle Ensemble:  This auditioned ensemble is comprised of students who play violin, viola, cello, bass, guitar and mandolin. This ensemble works to refine their improvisational skills, learn music in an aural tradition, and perform authentic American roots music. The Fiddle Ensemble performs at school concerts and special events, and is available for private performances throughout the year.  They meet Monday evenings from 6:00-7:30 PM in NE 221.


National Honor Society

Advisor: Jack Thompson | jcthompson@seattleschools.org
Student President/Leader: Emma B. Doherty | e.b.doherty@icloud.com 
Members meet about once a month in S106. It is a national organization that focuses on scholarship, leadership, service and character. Members are required to keep at least a 3.5 GPA and complete a minimum of 15 community service hours per semester.


Native American Cultural Awareness Club

Advisor: Brook Brayman | btbrayman@seattleschools.org
Student President/Leader: Niko Newbould | neekshaley@gmail.com
Members meet Mondays after school in SW106. Members learn about Native American Culture as well as current day issues as a means to inspire thoughtfulness and action. 


Newspaper- “The Talisman”

Advisor: Michael Smith | mtsmith@seattlschools.org 
In addition to Journalism class, meets before school, at lunch, and afterschool in SW102 when necessary. 


Ocean Health Club

Advisor: John Foster | jffoster@seattleschools.org 
Student President/Leader: Riley Hill | riley.elaine.hill@gmail.com 
OHC meets in NW2211 afterschool. Members focus on spreading awareness about everyday actions that harm the marine environment and attend planned conservation activities such as beach cleanups. 


Outdoor Club

Advisor: Jack Thompson | jcthompson@seattlschools.org 
Student President/Leader: Tera Richardson | terar@live.com
Students plan and attend hikes, go to stone gardens and rock climb, park walks, camping and safety when it comes to outdoor activities.  


Photography

Advisor: Gina O’Neill | gaoneill@seattleschools.org 
Student President/Leaders:
Katie Lynch | katherinenikki@gmail.com & Paisley Berkseth | paisley.berkseth@gmail.com
Members meet Thursdays after school in SW126.


Plant Club

Advisor: India Carlson | ikcarlson@seatttleschools.org 
Student President/Leader: Mitra Shafii | mitra.shafii@gmail.com  
Members meet Tuesday’s after school in NW203.


Podcast/Video Club

Advisor: Mary Jereczek | mejereczek@seattleschools.org
Student President/Leader: Riley Bills | rileyrows@gmail.com 
Members meet Thursday’s after school in N101. Members view and analyze podcasts and discuss their opinions and feelings about them.


Psychology Club

Advisor: Kristen Storey | kmstorey@seattlschools.org
Student President/Leader: Victoria Hanson | victoriahanson0@gmail.com 
Members meet after school on Tuesday’s on SW104.


SLAM Club - Students' Lives Always Matter

Advisor: Chelsea Clark | chelsea.clark@swedish.org 
Student President/Leader: Erika Weber| erikaweber13@gmail.com
Members meet Thursday’s before school at 8:15 at the Teen Health Center. The mission of the club is to perform suicide prevention activities and raise awareness about the problem of teen suicide.  Planned activities include: classroom presentations at BHS and local middle schools; coordinating and planning Suicide Prevention Week and distributing leaflets and posters.  After-school participation earns volunteer service hours. 


STAR Club (Students & Teachers Against Racism)

Advisor: Tayrn Coe | tmcoe@seattleschools.org
Student President/Leader:
Meetings are at 7:45 am in room SW107.


Table-Top Game Club

Advisor: Shelley Vertucci | scvertucci@seattlschools.org
Student President/Leader: Al Theodore | Alexander.y.theodore@gmail.com
Members meet Wednesdays in S216 and participate in an assortment of table-top and board games.


Thespian Society #5369

Advisor: Shawn Riley | smriley@seattleschools.org
Student President/Leader: Meg Shepherd | megtce@gmail.com 
Members meet every Monday at 3:25 in the black box. The Thespian organization is a special honorary group within the Drama Club for Junior and senior students who have participated in a minimum of 100 hours in two or more main stage theater productions AND maintained the proper annual requirements to remain Thespians. Some members may attend a state leadership conference and the state theater festival each year.

The mission of the Thespians is to provide a nurturing environment in which students can pursue individual and collective achievements by developing their skills and understanding in the genre of theatre, musical theatre, and technical theatre. Thespian expectations are as follows; Demonstrate respect by being punctual, serve as a leader and role model to others, commit to being focused and dedicated to your academics, your craft, and your school. Value your body as your instrument by living a clean lifestyle. Show respect to each other, staff, volunteers, and to the facilities of the theater in which we work. Demonstrate and express support for each other whether onstage, backstage, or in the audience. Thespians as an organization is far greater than any individual. Let us be proud of our accomplishments, yet humble enough to understand that our goals could not be accomplished without each other.


Ukulele Club

Advisor: Matt Harkleroad | msharkelroad@seattleschools.org
No experience required! Come on down and jam on Thursdays in SW110.


Ultimate | Girls Frisbee

Advisor: Carrie Burr | cjburr@seattleschools.org
Coach: Patrick McLane | patrickcmclane@gmail.com 
Student President/Leader: Camille Folweiler | camille.folweiler@gmail.com 
Players meet Monday thru Friday between March 1st and May 1st at Interbay playfield from 3:30-5:30. Members play ultimate frisbee participating in practices and games against other schools.


Ultimate | Boys Friday Club Frisbee

Boys Friday Club league starts March 15th and runs every Friday through May. If you are interested, please download and complete this INTEREST FORM HERE.


Unified Robotics

Advisor: Robyn Maddess | ramaddess@seattleschools.org 
Student President/Leader: Jesse Oglesby | jesseogl@hotmail.com 
Meetings meet Thursday nights in SW208. Members with and without disabilities get together to build LEGO mindstorm robots and compete.


Yearbook- “The Shingle”

Michael Smith | mtsmith@seattlschools.org
Members meet Monday-Friday in SW122. The Shingle records the history of the school year in photos and text.

© Seattle Public SchoolsWebsite by SchoolMessenger Presence opens a new window.  © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.