Skip To ContentSkip To Content
    Talisman & Shingle Winners | National JEA Write-Off Contest | April 2017
    Posted on 04/09/2017
    More than 1,300 students representing hundreds of school newspapers and yearbooks nationwide attended and participated in the National JEA Write-Off Contest & Convention held in Seattle. Several yearbook and newspaper students in the journalism program brought home individual awards in the writing, design and photography contests.

    For the yearbook the Shingle, Laila Kleven won an Honorable Mention in Yearbook Academics Writing; Lili Donovan won an Excellent in Yearbook Clubs Writing: Hannah Wetterau won Honorable Mention in Yearbook Student Life Writing; and Thomas Meade won the only Superior in Feature Photography.

    Oscar with awards jpg
    For the newspaper Talisman staff winners
    , Oscar Zahner won an Excellent for Commentary Writing; Eleanor Dudley won an Honorable Mention in Feature Writing; Jackson Croy won an Honorable Mention in Newsmagazine design; Fletcher Anderson won a Superior in Editorial Cartooning; Kate Inge won an Honorable Mention in Sports Writing; Ella Anderson won a Superior in News Writing; and Christ Barrett won a Superior in Review Writing.