About

Ballard High School signBallard High School Marching Band in California


Ballard High School is a proud community of learners that is supported by a passionate group of parents and alumni to provide a rigorous education for all of our students. 

We believe strongly that engaging students in school through academies, pathways, performing arts, athletics & activities increases their learning opportunities.  Simply stated, students who get involved at Ballard High School, perform better at Ballard High School.

There are countless ways to get involved at BHS. Here are a few places to start:

Ballard also offers a wide variety of rigorous and engaging Advanced Placement Courses, UW in the High School Courses, and CTE courses to challenge students and prepare them for college and life. See more information on the Academics page.


Our Mission

"Ballard High School is an inclusive, supportive community that cultivates a tradition of excellence for all students." ~adopted May, 2008


Our Vision

  • All students will develop positive relationships with adults and students at Ballard High School through academic, extracurricular, and social opportunities.
  • All students will receive support – academic, social, cultural – in order to take on the challenges they will face, including college, career, and other endeavors.
  • All students and families will join with Ballard High School to engage as partners in supporting and strengthening the school and greater community.
  • All students will develop individual strengths, achieve academic excellence, and be recognized for their successes.

 


Our Foundation

As the oldest high school in Seattle, Ballard has a proud tradition of excellence.  The Ballard High School Foundation is comprised of proud graduates of Ballard High School and our supporters. 

Past projects funded by the Foundation include the Greenhouse, the Earl Kelly Performing Arts Center Sound System, the BHS Library, the Orre Nobles Art Collection, Athletic Supplies, Music Supplies and the Henry Bendele Strength Facility.Current projects for the Foundation include an Endowment and the GAINS Project to assist struggling students. For more information, please visit the Ballard Foundation Website or Executive Director, Dick Lee at rjlee@seattleschools.org

Contact Us

1418 NW 65th St
Seattle, WA 98117
Main Office: 206-252-1000
Fax: 206-252-1001

Attendance 206-252-1009 or
ballardhs.attendance@
seattleschools.org

Principal: Keven Wynkoop
kswynkoop@seattleschools.org

Assistant Principals:
Elizabeth Guillory A-F
eguillory@seattleschools.org

Carrie Burr G-N
cjburr@seattleschools.org

James Slaid O-Z
jjslaid@seattleschools.org



Counselors:


Julia Shin A-Bn
jjshin@seattleschools.org

Sarah Bowman Bo-Ga
sabowman@seattleschools.org

Tom Kramer Gb-Ll
tkramer@seattleschools.org

Brenda Day Lm-Ro 
blday@seattleschools.org

Katie Huguenin Rp-Z
Head Counselor
kwhuguenin@seattleschools.org

Counseling Secretary:
Carol Bristol
chbristol@seattleschools.org



School Nurse:
Annette Cologna
206-252-1007 or Fax 743-3106

Registrar: Stephanie Waters
smwaters@seattleschools.org


Administrative Secretary:

Vivian Belcher
vlbelcher@seattleschools.org

Athletic Secretary:
Kim Nickerson 
kdnickerson@seattleschools.org


Additional Resources

Who was Captain Ballard? pdf icon

BHS Course Catalog pdf icon

Bell Schedules

Student Handbook pdf icon

© Seattle Public SchoolsWebsite by SchoolMessenger Presence opens a new window.  © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.